A Photo Journal of Bonsai Repotting

BONSAIKO

I would say the most important task in bonsai is root development, rune pruning, or repotting.  The trees energy is supported by the roots.  A bonsai must have healthy fine roots to become a good bonsai which will lead to a healthy tree and eventually withstand the other training that follows to create a good bonsai.  I was lucky enough to learn a systematic method of repotting from Boon Manakitivipart when I took his intensive class.   Boon is very methodical and meticulous about how he did everything and it shows on his trees.  I will do my best to walk you through what I do following what I best remember from that intensive class.  I’m doing this on one of my largest trees the Viburnum which I’ve written a few times here.   The method will be similar to smaller trees except the soil particles may need to vary.  Of course the timing…

View original post 324 more words

One thought on “A Photo Journal of Bonsai Repotting

  1. Pingback: A Photo Journal of Bonsai Repotting – Rustedrootbonsai | Wolf's Birding and Bonsai Blog

Leave a Reply

